Puzzle 4: Going Numberless. Because, in crosswords, location is everything.


(When I get a chance like this to plug my favorite band, I’ve got to do it, no?)

Last week’s A Capital Idea solution

Get the PDF here!

Call me crazy, but I think this just might work. Now, a regular crossword does require a bit of logic to complete, but I’ve upped the ante on the logic with this. As you’ll see, I’ve given you two (small, 9×9) grids, I’ve given you the clues… but I haven’t given you any numbers. You’ve got to figure out not only what the answers are, but also where the answers go. The point of these puzzles is to use some logic to hammer away at the interlock until all the answers fall into place. I intend for this to be a tough but fair challenge. Let me know… was this unfair? Or was it too easy? Did things fall into place? How did you do?

I downgraded the difficulty of the clues (I pretty much had to) and I didn’t include any obscure words or other crosswordese that you wouldn’t find outside of crossword puzzles. As you’ll see, I gave you two different puzzles with two different levels of difficulty, in which the clues are listed in alphabetical order two different ways: one by their answers, and the other by the clues itself.

I’ll be back with another crossword puzzle, of course, on Tuesday (this time with clue numbers!). The answer to Freestyle Puzzle 2 will appear there too. But I hope this will tide you over until then.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! Let me know how you did! What did you like? What could I do better? Can I refill your beverage? Who do I call if our house has a broken grazzlewhacker? What do I do if I adopt a dog, but find out that it only communicates in Russian?

As always, share this link! Pass it around!

One thought on “Puzzle 4: Going Numberless. Because, in crosswords, location is everything.”

  1. I liked the head scratching challenge and reward. Both puzzles were pretty darn hard but both fell by the end of the Wizards-Clippers game. Wizards won too, yay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

