Puzzle 13: Freestyle 8. It’ll grow on you.

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.42

Before I go anywhere else, I’d like to thank the precociously talented Adam Nicolle for his shout-out to my website. Seriously, go check his stuff out.

Something new for me this week, as far as this site goes… a ten-stack. Two pairs of ’em, actually. Obviously it was 1-Across that drove the construction of this entire puzzle. And, as you’ll see, it was a bit of a bear to get that stack to work with that entry. I’m always afraid that a 10-stack will create an overage of three-letter words, but I managed to keep those down somehow.

One of these days, I’m gonna start at the bottom and construct upwards, but this is not that day. Some constructors have found it easier to start at the bottom; if I decide to do a triple stack here, that’s probably the way I’m going to go. Soon enough.

Besides 1-Across, I didn’t really have any seeds, but I did have two mini-seeds at 12-Down and 28-Down. I really paid attention to the crossings at 28-Down because, while I think it’s a neat entry, it may otherwise cause consternation in a less carefully-constructed corner. 27/28-Across is a tough two-stack, but not unfair, in my humble view. Also, I wasn’t thrilled to have proper names stacked together at 2/3/4-Down, but I think they’re all fair.

Without giving anything away, my favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is that the work referenced in 25-Across was actually written in response to a bet from his publisher. I also learned that this work was banned in China for over 25 years because they thought it portrayed Marxism in a positive light to its audience. Yup.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better? Tell me, where are you driving, midnite cruiser? Where is your bounty of fortune and fame? If the Jerry Springer Show covered a WWE match, would the fighting be real? What would happen if I visited an owl sanctuary and told the first female employee I saw, “Nice hooters!”?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

2 thoughts on “Puzzle 13: Freestyle 8. It’ll grow on you.”

  1. Tim – these freestyle puzzles are top-notch.
    I’m a fan of tough themelesses – and you’ve been bringing it!
    Thanks – and keep up the good work
    Pete

    Like

Leave a Reply

