Puzzle 18: Vowelless Word Search. Solve the puzzle, but you can’t buy a vowel.

Last Friday’s Freestyle 16 solution

Get the PDF here!

To switch it up here, I did a simple word search here. Wait… simple? No, not really. I can’t just do a straightforward word search, can I? Of course not. Behind this link is a word search, but my change-up is that I’ve taken out all of the vowels! I hid 65 world capitals in this word search, but I took out all the vowels beforehand and confined it to only those with four or more consonants and those that didn’t contain a Y. Also, including a word list would have defeated the point; the puzzle is not only to find the disemvoweled capitals, but also to figure out which ones are in the puzzle in the first place.

I know I’ve succeeded in creating a challenging puzzle when I showed it to Christine on the computer screen, and she just sighed one of those “you’re a mad scientist” sighs and shook her head. Yes, I think this ranges on the difficult side. But I hope you find it challenging but fair.  After all, my satisfaction in creating puzzles is not to stump people, but to only provide enough of a resistance so that there is a sense of satisfaction in solving the puzzle when that resistance is overcome.

I’ll be back with another crossword puzzle, of course, on Tuesday. The answer to Freestyle Puzzle 11 will appear there too. But I hope this will tide you over until then.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! Let me know how you did! What did you like? What could I do better? Does it ever drive you crazy just how fast the night changes? Why do we drive on a highway, but get high on a driveway? If you eat at an expensive Mexican restaurant, will that make you expel premium gas?

As always, share this link! Pass it around!

Leave a Reply

