Puzzle 19: Freestyle 12. Dancing sharks not included.

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.19

You may wonder why I use the term “freestyle” instead of “themeless” to describe my puzzles, and this is a prime example. There is a sort of a theme running through this… not strong enough to make a true themed puzzle, but strong enough that I can’t call this “themeless”. I think it more accurately describes the process of creating this kind of puzzle… “themeless” brings to mind, for me, the image of a rudderless ship out adrift.

I definitely want to mention that there will be another freestyle puzzle posted tomorrow, for reasons that you may see upon solving this puzzle; also, I have a variety offering that I want to post this Friday.

You may notice that there’s a slightly lower mean word length than what I’ve been posting lately — which means more black squares (38) than normal — and there’s a good reason for that, which you’ll find out by doing this puzzle. There was a definite need to place all of those black squares exactly where they are, instead of having a bit of freedom to move a lot of them around.

I definitely don’t have to tell you what the seeds for this puzzle were; I didn’t really have any mini-seeds in the construction process. It’s not at all that the fill was all forced into place, but I had to be just a bit less “freewheeling” with the fill than with my other offerings.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle was definitely the fact in the clue at 6-Down. The natural world is so fascinating to me.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better? What do you want from me when I just want to restart? Who stole the cookie from the cookie jar? Do you ever get the sinking feeling that all of your friends are beginning to believe that you’re an android?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New variety puzzle on Friday, too!

Leave a Reply

