Puzzle 30: Freestyle 18. Hopefully not a tall order.


(That spelling mistake in the title really grinds my gears, but I guess I’ll just deal.)

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.44

Fairly standard 9×3 formation. Even though 1-Across has appeared in a major publication before, I was drawn so much to that word that I had to make it a seed of this puzzle. The compartmental nature of this grid allowed me to get a few other seed entries in there that I really wanted: no less than six. This time, 1-Across is all I’ll tell you: bonus points to figure out what the other ones are (OK, so they won’t be that hard to spot). Some are debuts, some are not.

In the “so glad I found a new cluing angle for that” department: 47-Across. One of my general goals with any crossword is to include as few entries as possible that can only be clued one way or very few ways (i.e. more unusual names, words that are only found as a part of certain phrases), so I wasn’t overly thrilled in having to include it. But I was fairly surprised not to have seen this angle in cluing this name before. Also in that same department is 18-Across. I really, really didn’t want to include that entry at first, but I did some research and happened upon this fairly commonly used usage. Once I discovered that, it went from “no way I’ll use it” to “I’m definitely using it”. Funny how that happens.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is the history involved in the answer to 5-Down: more than I ever would care to know, but interesting enough to make a clue out of it.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better? Did Mother Nature tell you, “Boy, you come and go as you please”? When the watchmaker finished his dinner, did he ask for seconds? Isn’t it ironic when people at antiwar protests get arrested for disturbing the peace?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

2 thoughts on “Puzzle 30: Freestyle 18. Hopefully not a tall order.”

Leave a Reply

