Puzzle 32: Freestyle 19. Things are piling up.

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.57

A triple stack puzzle, finally! Many of my published late-week New York Times puzzles have been triple stacks, so I figured it was about time for one on the website. I started on the bottom, because that’s the easiest way, I find, to construct a triple stack with manual fill. Once I had a stack that worked, I jumped to the top to take care of the top stack. The middle was a bit tricky to fill — you can tell partly because I threw in a pair of “cheater” squares (I hate that term, but that’s the term we use, so…) — in fact, I actually had a harder time with the middle than the triple stacks.

I’m particularly happy with the clues I came up with for 16-Across, 34-Across, 1-Down, 29-Down, and 32-Down. I had a fun time cluing this grid… well, I always have fun cluing, but this was particularly so. The issue has come up before with words in answers duplicating words in clues, and I don’t think it’s such a big deal to do it. Some may consider it inelegant, and that’s fine, but it’s my philosophy that if I like a clue, and it’s original, I’m using it no matter what. As long as the answer and the clue are not right next to each other, I don’t see it as a problem.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is the fact in 24-Down; I’m not a big fan of history, but I even had to admit just how neat it is that a manuscript can survive for that long and still be at all legible, never mind be able to be interpreted.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better? Do you remember the face… the face of such graceful invention? When you’re testing Scotchgard on a “hidden place”, does your armpit qualify as a “hidden place”? Wouldn’t it be cool to open a restaurant where the waiters and waitresses serve you your food hopping on Pogo sticks? (And what would you call this restaurant?)

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

