Puzzle 36: Freestyle 21. There are no words. (Well, actually, there are a lot of them.)

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.33

I hope everyone had fun and achieved their goals at the ACPT!

The primary seeds for this puzzle were the two 13-letter entries. 13s and 14s are the neglected lengths mainly because they force your hand with block placement just by virtue of their lengths. They usually force some long downs that have to be stacked together — this puzzle was no exception.

I managed to fit a lot of my originally-intended entries; that’s great for me, because what usually happens is that I get the pipe dream and litter the grid with seed entries, then begrudgingly hold a brief mental funeral for an entry each time I have to take it out. I don’t mind taking out seeds if it just won’t work within the grid, but I’m never happy about having to do it, of course.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is, by far, the whole situation around 38-Down. I learned far, far more about the courtship and mating process of slugs and snails than I ever thought I wanted to know. (It’s actually pretty interesting, I must say.)

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

Hit me up by email!

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

