Puzzle 38: Freestyle 22. We’re going underground.

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.39

Before I get to anything else: if you haven’t already, you must, must, must go check out Sam Ezersky’s freestyle offering from 4/6/14. I don’t know how he pulled off the amount of great entries that he did, never mind that it was in a wide-open 66-word grid, never mind that it was all manual filling. This is a gem and I know you will all be as impressed as I am.

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

From week to week, I usually have a choice of four or five freestyles from my bank to choose from. It’s just whatever strikes my mood that I choose to put up on a week-to-week basis. This time, it was a rather quick turnaround: I just constructed and clued this puzzle, finishing it the day before I’m posting this. There may be some recency bias, I guess you could call it; this came together quickly and I’m very happy with how it came out. There are a lot of clues in this one that I really like, too. I hope you feel the same way after you do this.

The ultimate seed with this one is probably not the one you’d think it is, but 17-Across. Other seeds were 1-Across (obviously), 18-Across, 38-Across, 58-Across, and 32-Down. Obviously the action started in the northwest, went to the middle, then went to the upper right and upper left corners and finished with the lower right. (I could afford to put off the lower right because I had 32-Down and the first 4 letters of 39-Down in place, and thus had a lot of options for 39-Down.)

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is an easy choice: it’s the bit of trivia (well, it’s a little more significant than trivia) at 41-Across. I’m not a history buff by any means, so I didn’t know anything else about the person in the answer besides what most people know about this person. If you didn’t know this about him already, I think you’ll be a little surprised too.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

