Puzzle 43: Freestyle 26. Set your sights high.

Last Friday’s themed puzzle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.36

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

In my everlasting crusade to procrastinate about publishing a variety puzzle stay current in the cruciverbal arts, I have another “because reasons” freestyle puzzle on a Friday (just like this one two weeks ago or this one from a while back). This one I saw on social media three days before this post. I got that old magic feeling when I noticed it was fifteen letters long, and off I went. I had three other seeds besides 8-Down, which were 24-Across, 35-Down, and 40-Down. I did throw in a couple of mini-seeds at 32-Down and 11-Down as I was constructing along — those two were in the northeast corner, which was the section I completed last.

You might have noticed, because the perspicacity of the cruciverbal community knows no bounds, that, if an entry can be read as either a proper noun or an uncapitalized word, I will almost always clue the entry as an uncapitalized word. I usually shy away as much as possible from “either you know it or you don’t” entries for place names, people’s names, etc. because uncapitalized words almost always have more cluing options than capitalized ones. In this puzzle, however, there’s an exception; I don’t know why I clued a particular entry as a proper name, maybe because I was amazed at the tidbit that I chose to use in the clue for this entry. See if you can spot it after you’re done.

Oh, and one more anecdote about this puzzle. I showed Christine the finished grid with the entry at 8-Down. Later that night, just before bed, she asked me (highlight the blank space for what she said, as it’s kinda sorta a spoiler alert), “What was that name you showed me earlier? Wicka flicka dicka?” No bad intentions, she just honestly couldn’t remember it. We couldn’t stop laughing after that one.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is definitely the fact at 41-Across. I found pictures of the inside of it on a very interesting blog post of someone who lives in Guam — just search [guam (entry at 41-Across)] to check it out, as I don’t want to give it away in the name of the hyperlink.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

 

Leave a Reply

