Puzzle 46: Freestyle 28. Approach with caution.

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.49

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

The slightly compartmental nature of this puzzle allowed me to include quite a few seeds: 15-Across (explanation below), 57-Across, 12-Down, 37-Down, and 43-Down. Whenever you see an unusual block arrangement, like that odd pair of offset crosses, and/or you see a “cheater” square (I hate that term… I prefer “helper” square) to accommodate a corner, that means that I was really trying to get a stack to work. That was the case with the upper left section of this puzzle. That’s a pretty small corner in the upper right and lower left; I usually don’t like to make them too tight, but at least that allowed me to put in some colorful sixes.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is, by far, the factoid at 15-Across. In fact, it was a seed entry not because of the entry per se, but because I wanted to include that clue for it.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New themed puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

