Puzzle 48: Freestyle 29. “It’s like a creature out of Greek mythology!”

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.39

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

Before I say anything else, I want to plug something new and exciting from Club 72 headquarters: there will be a guest freestyle puzzle tomorrow! I got an email a couple of weeks ago with a submission for a guest freestyle for my website. His name is Jason Mueller, and he’ll be making his major publication debut soon… but I’m very happy to put a guest puzzle of his on this site tomorrow. Check it out!

If you’ve been following me, you know that I’m a big “Seinfeld” fan and like to put in a reference whenever I can (and whenever it’s reasonable) in my offerings. Well, in this one, the “Seinfeld” reference is the seed itself. (It was going to happen eventually!) That episode is also the source of the quote in the title of this blog post, in case you were curious.

Every puzzle has its tribulations, and this one was no different: I got three-quarters around this puzzle’s construction when I realized I had a silly dupe. That forced me to tear out quite a bit of what I had done already, especially in the middle, and reconstruct. I still got a few entries from the old seed list into the puzzle, including 1-Across (obviously), 45-Down, and 61-Across.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! After the guest freestyle tomorrow, there’ll be a new freestyle puzzle on Friday!

One thought on “Puzzle 48: Freestyle 29. “It’s like a creature out of Greek mythology!””

  1. Nicely built. I’m always going to be partial to any grid with a Seinfeld reference at 1-A, but entries like 10-D, 16-A, and 51-D kept me having a blast all the way through. Even learned new words at 26-A and 37-A.

    Like

Leave a Reply

