Puzzle 57: Freestyle 35. Give this the once-over, will you?

Last week’s Wordominoes solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Average word length: 5.57

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

The main impetus that drove the construction of this puzzle was obviously 6-Down. Believe it or not, I was inspired to use that phrase in this grid by RuPaul (remember RuPaul?), who uttered this phrase in a promo clip for a show about body painting on the Game Show Network. (You can’t make this stuff up!) Other seeds include 3-Down, 11-Down, and 57-Across.

The northwest was an adventure to construct in and of itself; it wasn’t that it was a particularly hard corner to build, but I think it was cursed. No less than three separate times did I construct that corner, go on to another part of the puzzle (or to cluing), and then discover that there was an egregious dupe. I ran this final version through Crossword Compiler just to make sure there were no bad dupes. (Besides, I realize I had one in my last puzzle that I really should have noticed.)

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is the word in the clue for 4-Down. I looked into it to make sure, and learned that it was an actual thing that people really said.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

