Puzzle 60: Freestyle 37. Stacked up in your favor.

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Average word length: 5.50

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

First off… if you like wordplay (of course you do!) and you like movies, then the variety puzzle I have Friday will be for you. Be sure to come back on Friday for that.

On to today’s grid. The pride of this puzzle for me is the eight-letter stacks… they both came together very quickly and they both worked out very well as I saw it. The seeds in each stack are the top entry and the bottom entry… when I saw what could fit between each of those pairs, I was very pleased that they could work out like that. When I stack eights or nines like that, it usually works out that I have to stack sixes or even fives crossing them vertically, but here I have sevens. I started with those horizontal bars of three blocks in the sixth and eighth rows, but I actually had to move them to the center to make it work out. Lengthening the intersecting stacks to make them work out is not how the process usually goes!

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is at 59-Across. Here was my process for writing this clue. On a whim, I said, “I wonder if they’ve made milk of this stuff yet.” I looked it up. Wouldn’t I know, I found that there IS milk made of this stuff.
A close second is the fact in 9-Down… it was the only country I could find where this is a requirement.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

