Puzzle 62: Freestyle 38. Decisions, decisions…

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Average word length: 5.34

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

Here we are again with the stairstep formation down the middle, just like the grid a little while ago. Also, I could have gone for the full quad stack in the lower right/upper left, but I didn’t want to bring it down to 68; as you’ll see, there really wasn’t any other place to put that pair of blocks to make it 70, considering what I wanted to do with this grid. I didn’t want to make four extra three-letter words for myself, but I did what I had to do.

Due to the slightly compartmentalized nature of this puzzle, it came together pretty quickly — I’d say around two hours total to construct the grid. I had a framework of seed answers in this one, at 14-, 30-, and 53-Across and 4-, 16-, and 25-Down, and they didn’t force me to make any compromises in the fill (if they had, I would have taken out a seed answer or two to make the fill work).

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is everything I gathered from reading about 21-Down and the fact in the clue. You just couldn’t make up the stuff that happens in nature even if you tried, no?

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

