Puzzle 70: Freestyle 44. We have reached cruising altitude.

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.44

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

For some reason, I was in a mood to put my major stacks in the upper right and lower left instead of the usual opposite. It was a new way to approach things, if nothing else. The two main seeds were 16-Across and 60-Across, with 27- and 44-Across manifesting themselves over the process of construction. It’s different putting the stacks on the opposite side of the grid as usual, because the intersecting stacks are in different places than I’m used to doing — in the top stack, the intersecting 7-stack was at the end, as opposed to the beginning with how I usually have done it. I’d hazard a guess that most freestyle stack puzzles begin with the stack in the upper left/lower right; I think this is because the marquee answer tends to be at the top of the stack and many constructors like to put the marquee answer at 1-Across.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle was all about 27-Across. Without giving too much away, this football club is pretty interesting to learn about, and I recommend you read up about it (after you solve the puzzle, of course).

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New freestyle puzzle on Friday!

One thought on “Puzzle 70: Freestyle 44. We have reached cruising altitude.”

  1. It’s hard, Tim!! It’s also 96 degrees and I feel braindead– but it’s definitely hard. I will let you know on Twitter if I manage to finish!

    Like

Leave a Reply

