Puzzle 74: Freestyle 47. Reach for the sky!


I’ve been waiting for an excuse to post a Jessie Ware song! I don’t normally talk much about the videos I post, but she’s my favorite artist of the past ten years.

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.28

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

I was able to stack two pairs of seed entries to start this puzzle (1/14 and 62/66 Across). I’m very excited whenever I get a chance to stack seeds, because I don’t want crossings to suffer no matter how good the stack. 1-Across came from a game show (I don’t remember which one); I’d never heard of it before then, but I immediately added it to my seed list. If it’s good enough for a game show (on GSN, I think), then it’s good enough for my word list.

Sometimes, when you stuff seed answers into the two main stacks, the rest of the puzzle may suffer; I didn’t want the upper right and lower left to meet that fate, so I paid particular attention to keeping those corners lively as well.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is the idiom at 26-Down. Once you solve it, translate it if you don’t know what it means. It’s pretty cool.

I’m working on a 68-word freestyle right now whose grid is a bit of a deviation from my usual construction style, but you’ll see it soon… maybe Friday, maybe a week from today, I don’t know.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

