Puzzle 83: Freestyle 55. Hopefully this won’t have you shouting four-letter words.

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 68
Mean word length: 5.68

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

This is a first for a Club 72 freestyle crossword: a grid with no three-letter entries. It’s all four-letter words or longer.That was not by accident, either — I set out to make one with no threes just to see how I could do with it. Yes, the northeast and the southwest are isolated; however, it’s a little more open than my original plan, which had another pair of blocks, one at the start of where 21-Across is now and its symmetric counterpart at the end of where 50-Across is now. I’m glad I was able to open up at least that part of it. A little while ago, I quad-stacked nines, which was… interesting… to pull off, to say the least. For that one, of course, I only had to come up with two stacks though. Quad-stacking sevens is a little easier, but, of course, I had to come up with four of those stacks this time. The upper left and lower left came much easier than I thought, but the upper right was a real SOB for some reason. (Constructing the lower right was the impetus for opening up those two corners as I described above; I had already done the upper left and layered the bottom three of the four in the stack in the lower right when I discovered that it could actually be better and easier to construct if I take out that aforementioned block pair.)

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is at 50-Across, that there exists a documentary that has this as a subject. Any topic can be made interesting in the right hands, I suppose.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Puzzle 83: Freestyle 55. Hopefully this won’t have you shouting four-letter words.”

Leave a Reply

