Puzzle 85: Freestyle 57. Standing out from the crowd.

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.33

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

14-letter entries do funny things to grids, as I’ve mentioned in previous posts. Upon first glance, as in another recent grid I posted, this grid looks like it has more than 72 words. I had to count it twice to make sure myself. I was able to put a lot of interesting things from the seed list in this grid, starting with, of course, the reason for this grid, 20-Across. 3-Down, 38-Down, 32-Down, and 53-Across were also from the seed list. Now, 19-Down I’ve seen with or without the “r” in varied sources (this isn’t giving anything away, I presume), including dictionaries; most every dictionary in which I’ve found this term includes this as a valid spelling. For some reason, the version with the “r” gets many more Google hits than without, but they seem equally valid from all that I’ve seen.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is 20-Across, of course. As soon as I learned about it, I looked all around the Web to see how the heck this thing would actually be pulled off. (Learning that there’s a goddess called Mama Killa is a close second.)

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

 

Leave a Reply

