Puzzle 88: Freestyle 60. A grid with something to sing about.

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.28

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

I can tell you for sure that, starting out, I did not intend the 9-stacks across the upper left and lower right to intersect pairs of vertical 9- and 10-letter entries (as in 3/4-Down and 28/35-Down). That’s for sure. In fact, believe it or not, I started out with the familiar diagonal lines of blocks going upper left to lower right and lower left to upper right. I mean, I guess I just start with a pattern because I have to start with something, right? I never expect that pattern to last anyway.

Upon completing this puzzle, if you had to guess where I started constructing this grid, you’d probably say upper left, right? That’s what I’d guess, too. Believe it or not, it was actually the bottom right! (Specifically, the seed for this whole puzzle was 58-Across.) This area was the impetus for scrapping the original formation, because I discovered that I could make a 9/10-letter vertical stack work with the 9-stack across the bottom right. It just worked out really well in the upper left — the upper left was the last section I completed.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is at 48-Across. Need I say more? The guy was nuts!

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

 

 

One thought on “Puzzle 88: Freestyle 60. A grid with something to sing about.”

Leave a Reply

