Puzzle 91: Freestyle 63. You’ll have to be at the top of your game.

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.44

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

The upper left and lower right were constructed extremely quickly in this grid, but the lower left took longer and the upper right (more on this later) took even longer still. The whole thing started with 15-Across, which I’ve been wanting to put into a puzzle for a while now, and 65-Across. I don’t know why I put 65-Across in the bottom row to start (you’ll see why), but it all worked out. 38-Across was the other entry from my seed list that made it into this grid.

The upper right was, for some reason, a real sonofagun to construct. I had a different answer originally for 21-Down — the way the grid went, there were only two possibilities for that answer — and I spent the longest time with that other answer before switching to the one you see in the grid. Even after I switched, it wasn’t quite working the way I wanted it (maybe I was too nitpicky, I don’t know). However, the tide turned, believe it or not, on a three-letter entry (33-Across). I couldn’t believe that 33-Across hadn’t been in my wordlist, but that little entry opened up wide the possibilities for that corner when I inserted it.

Oh, and as for 17-Across: I hope sincerely that this entry isn’t too meta for any of you as you solve this grid.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is at 48-Across. He must have quite some musical talent (at least I’d like to think so) for being in a band with those folks.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

