Puzzle 96: Freestyle 67. And the beat goes on.

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.42

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

The reason for this grid was 18-Across. It hadn’t even been on my radar until I went shopping, and saw the book misplaced (or, likely, put there by someone who decided they didn’t want to buy it anymore and was too lazy to bring it back) on the impulse-buy rack near the cash register. It was as if the crossword gods said, “Here. You want a seed entry? Well, here’s one for you right here.” What an amazing story (the actual book, not the story of how I found it).

If you suspected that this grid started life with triple-stacked entries in each corner, you’d be right; how that pair of blocks ended up in the upper right/lower left was purely an accident. I had what are now 15-Across and 18-Across in place, and went to place the cursor in that position without realizing I had the “blocks” button highlighted. So I accidentally put a block there… then I decided, “why not?” and kept it there. It worked out for the better anyway… I hadn’t really been getting anywhere with that corner anyway. I liked that format so much that I put a similar pair of blocks in the upper left/lower right, too.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is at 54-Across. Regardless of where you stand on the eating-meat issue, you’ve got to admit that’s pretty funny.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

 

 

One thought on “Puzzle 96: Freestyle 67. And the beat goes on.”

Leave a Reply

