Puzzle 97: Freestyle 68. It’s a gas, gas, gas!

Last Friday’s Schrödinger’s Words solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 68
Mean word length: 5.62

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

Of course, the thing that’ll hit you in the face when you look at the puzzle is the wide-open middle. Actually, it had been a little LESS wide-open than that. There were five cascading 9’s stacked in the middle originally in my completed grid, but my crossword scruples kept eating at me on one of the 9-letter entries (at the position that’s now 27-Across). I had even clued about half the entries… but I just couldn’t take it anymore. Luckily, I could change it fairly easily — but that involved lengthening the answers in the middle stack. So, instead of 9-9-9-9-9, the stack then became 10-10-9-10-10. Redoing the corners was no big deal, either. Sure, the grid becomes more like three mini-puzzles in one, but I liked the challenge of the wide-open middle stack such that I didn’t mind that sacrifice. I hope you won’t mind it either.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle is at 6-Down. It’s amazing, the size of that thing (and what it was used for was pretty cool, too).

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

 

 

One thought on “Puzzle 97: Freestyle 68. It’s a gas, gas, gas!”

Leave a Reply

