Puzzle 99: Freestyle 70. Fresh out of the can.

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.54

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

Before I say anything else, I would like to offer a big hearty congratulations to Devil Cross’ own Evan Birnholz for getting Merl Reagle’s old gig at the Washington Post! We all know you’ll knock it out of the park, Evan!

1-, 17-, and 61-Across were the starting points from which this grid emerged. (16-Down and 39-Down were from the seed list but they ended up being happy bonuses that I found could fit in where they did.) The part of the grid with which I had the absolute damnedest time was, believe it or not, the section just left of the middle and going up into the upper left corner (the ends of 1-, 2-, and 3-Down). It may not look like it now, but I had a tough time with it. The problem was that I had a lot of options, but none of them seemed to work to my satisfaction (until, obviously, I reached the one you’ll see). The helper squares in the upper right and lower left might have suggested that those would have been the toughest to construct, but I knew early on that I needed those to get what I wanted, and those corners came together nicely after the addition of that pair of squares.

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle was at 18-Across — that cannot be a good mark on a reputation. A close second was 28-Down; that’s gotta be brutal for the other birds!

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

One thought on “Puzzle 99: Freestyle 70. Fresh out of the can.”

Leave a Reply

