Puzzle 100: Freestyle 71. A round number for a square grid.

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.33

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

***GEEKY CROSSWORD CONSTRUCTING CONTENT TO FOLLOW***

The original form of this grid was a bit different than the one you see here. Originally, it wasn’t two 10s stacked with a 15; the two black squares that now divide 14-Down from 25-Down and 6-Down from 26-Down had been stacked below the black square between 1-Across and 6-Across. With the original arrangement, I found that I didn’t have as much room for sparkly longer entries, so I changed it. It would have had the same mean word length, but the word length distribution would have been more even; there weren’t as many longer entries. (I never considered taking out the black square between 1- and 6-Across, though.)

***END OF GEEKY CROSSWORD CONSTRUCTING CONTENT***

My favorite thing that I learned from this puzzle was in 44-Down… nothing should surprise me about that man at this point, though.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

2 thoughts on “Puzzle 100: Freestyle 71. A round number for a square grid.”

  1. Really liked this one. Initially impossible, but slowly opened up. Crosses were very fair – learned some new things and found many “obvious” answers after practically giving up.
    I was sure that 44D was THORPE. Congrats to anyone that dropped that one in without crosses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

