Puzzle 103: Freestyle 74. Giving you something to go on.

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.63

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

Constructing this grid brought me down into dupe hell. No less than three separate times did I think I was done constructing this grid when I discovered dupes in the grid. Not subtle ones, but head-slapping “how could I not have noticed that” ones. Twice, the dupe was four letters long, and the other time the dupe was with two entries in the same section of the grid. There’s a phenomenon called “target fixation” in which someone, like an auto racer or fighter pilot, becomes so focused on avoiding something in a vehicle that they actually crash into it. Maybe that explains why it took me four full attempts to rid the grid of dupes — I was focused on not having any dupes the second and third time so much that I ended up not noticing obvious dupes two more times than I should have!

My favorite thing that I learned, by far, from this grid is the name at 38-Across. I so wish that were true!

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

One thought on “Puzzle 103: Freestyle 74. Giving you something to go on.”

Leave a Reply

