Puzzle 108: Freestyle 79. Not too shabby, if you ask me.

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.46

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

Appearance was, of course, the main impetus for this grid. I don’t often like to have large swaths of the grid closed off, like I’ve done with this grid in two spots. But I feel like I left the sections open enough to avoid the feel of having “mini-puzzles” instead of consistent flow.

The center 15s and the center 7 were the first entries in the grid; the priority, obviously, was to get two entries from the seed list at 7- and 8-Down without forcing it too much. If I could get the center section to mesh, then the four corner sections could be pretty much filled independently of each other. Of course, it wouldn’t have made much sense to work from the corners out, because leaving the longer entries for last usually doesn’t work too well. Originally, the upper left and lower right were going to be triple stacks of 11, but I found that to be too constraining. I was getting fills manually that way, but it wasn’t coming out too well. Adding that pair of blocks to make it 70 instead of 68 made all the difference.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

