Puzzle 109: Themed Puzzle 4, The Pressure’s On! Don’t feel the crunch…

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

I decided to change it up a bit and do an average-difficulty themed grid. I know that it’s not often that I publish a themed grid here, but it’s nice (for me, but also, I hope, for you) to do something different once in a while, isn’t it? I mean, it’s not the usual 11-12-12-11 with a revealer kind of themed grid, but it is definitely not a freestyle. It’s hard for me to say too much more without giving anything away, so I’ll just set this puzzle down gently on this virtual table here and back away slowly so you can have it all to yourself.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

3 thoughts on “Puzzle 109: Themed Puzzle 4, The Pressure’s On! Don’t feel the crunch…”

  1. Good puzzle, enjoyed it a lot. At the risk of seeming ungrateful for the work you put in on these, I’d like to mention that some of the recent puzzles have been (for me) un-gettable. I’m a good, not great solver who typically completes the NYT Saturday puzzle in about 15-18 minutes. I’ve had to throw in the towel at 30 minutes several times lately and when I look at the solution I can see I’d never have gotten the correct word since I’m unfamiliar with it. I think you do yourself a disservice with the very obscure answers as people will give up trying to solve the puzzles altogether. That said, thanks again for your efforts.

    Like

    1. I’ll offer a slightly different perspective. This is probably the most challenging puzzle I do each week, which is why I get a charge when I get the happy pencil, like I did on this week’s. I had to put this one aside 80% solved and revisit it the next day. I don’t solve these correctly every time, but always look forward to the challenge and if I miss something, I’ll file it away for the next time I see it. Stick with your instincts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

