Puzzle 110: Freestyle 80. Keep plugging away!

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.54

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

It’s often a thin line between being as fresh as you can in a grid and maintaining fairness. Often, I have to resist the urge to stuff one more neologism or current reference into a grid if that would make a section of it borderline unfair. I had to check myself in such a way a couple times in this grid; as nice as it is to have fresh entries, sometimes it ruins the solving experience if one section is particularly sprinkled with them, making it hard or impossible for some to solve without resorting to Google. That’s why I’m sometimes more specific than I have to be with a clue; I feel like I need to provide an extra hint to a solver who may be unfamiliar with a particular term if I couldn’t avoid putting a couple of ultrafresh entries, one or more of which might be unfamiliar to some, near each other. (Of course, I’ve got to know when not to underestimate my solvers as well!)

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

