Puzzle 116: Freestyle 85. Stay in school, kids.

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 68
Mean word length: 5.56

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

The seed entry for this grid was actually suggested by a solver who emailed me. It was, obviously, the grid spanner in the middle, and I was absolutely shocked that it hadn’t appeared in a publication before. The clue that I used is a sort of mishmash of two clues that he suggested. Thanks a bunch, Patrick! As you’ve all come to find out, aesthetics doesn’t usually matter to me when building a grid, so, when I wanted to stack a 13-letter seed entry on top of the central grid spanner, I didn’t really hesitate to use the Utah-shaped clusters in the middle. Also, I didn’t really mean it that way, but I guess I was in a question-mark-clue mood when I was cluing this grid. It isn’t overladen with ? clues, but there are a little more than usual.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

One thought on “Puzzle 116: Freestyle 85. Stay in school, kids.”

Leave a Reply

