Puzzle 117: Freestyle 86. Just messing with your head.

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.31

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

The whole reason for this grid is 17-Across. When you encounter a fresh entry that you just know will be a debut, it’s prudent to just jump on it, right? The entire grid is shaped the way it is because of that one entry… funny how that happens. I did manage also to get two other entries from the seed list into this grid (1-Across and 58-Across). Also, three clues with cross references is a lot for me, I think — normally, as you might have read, I don’t like to use cross references unless the two referenced answers are really, really close in relationship.

23-Across is one of those kinds of words that I’ve come across not rarely, but never really noticed a familiar connection with its etymology. I was very surprised to find that connection, and I’m glad I learned it.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

 

3 thoughts on “Puzzle 117: Freestyle 86. Just messing with your head.”

  1. I also see code when I try to open this .puz using Across Lite on my iPad, although it’s worked seamlessly at other times. On my laptop, the code shows up and the file is a .puz.txt. If I remove the .txt, the puzzle opens normally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

