Puzzle 121: Freestyle 90. Don’t settle for less!

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.37

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

I got lucky in parts of this grid. Sometimes I’ll stretch a corner of the grid in such a way to make a few entries work together (like I did in the upper left with 1-Across, 15-Across, and 8-Down), but then I realize, “Oh yeah… I’ve gotta do this for the other corner, too.” That’s what happened in this grid — I got to the bottom right, with a seed at 39-Across that I really wanted to include, then I realized that it would be rather difficult to intersect a triple stack of 7s and a quad stack of 6s with a triple stack of 10s with the seed entry already constraining that corner. Pure luck befell me when I started with the vertical stack at 40/41/42-Down and found that the stack of 10s and, in turn, the vertical stack of 6s was actually very flexible. I didn’t want to settle for mediocre fill in that corner, and it didn’t take me long to find the fill that I wasn’t just settling for.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

