Puzzle 141: Freestyle 109. No foolin’!

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.51

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

This grid started life with two 8-9-9 stacks in the corners (6-Across/15-Across was the origin). I don’t normally do what I did in this grid, which was to extend the pair of entries in the third/13th rows to 15 instead of keeping the stack “confined”. Like with all the changes I make to the block structure of my grid, I did it because it actually helped me make construction easier. Also, speaking of making construction easier, in my ever-living quest to drive home the point that aesthetics don’t matter, I incorporated no less than SIX helper squares (some may call them “cheater squares”) to make my grid work the best that it could. It’s my grid, and I’ll do what I want!

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

9 thoughts on “Puzzle 141: Freestyle 109. No foolin’!”

      1. Thanks Tim! (Sorry about the typo up there too. Glad we don’t solve in an app or I’d never solve cleanly).

        Like

  1. I am struggling to understand the switching of the clues for five down and six across, as well as the clue for 14 across. Any insight about why this was done would be enlightening.

    Like

  2. When I attempt to use the PUZ file I get a running list of the clues and no grid. I access your site on a Mac laptop using Safari.

    Like

    1. Dropbox can get a little wonky sometimes. It works on my PC in Chrome and Firefox (don’t have Safari on the PC), but it doesn’t work on Safari on my tablet. If worse comes to worst, email me through the website and I’ll get a copy to you directly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

