Puzzle 147: Freestyle 115. Is this all there is?

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.44

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

Another grid where I built four long stacks pinwheel-style. This time, I was able to fit in no less than six seed-list entries into those stacks: 15-, 18-, 62-, and 64-Across and 1- and 3-Down. That’s not to say that I neglected the bottom right, though. The existence of 60-Across and 63-Across as phrases saved my bacon in that corner. Most of the trouble I encountered constructing that corner was not making the 8-letter entries stack but, believe it or not, getting the bitty 5-letter entries to work with that stack… I don’t know why. It was getting really annoying at points because every permutation of the 8-stacks wasn’t just quite working because of those stupid 5s. I was about to make a serious concession in that corner when I realized the existence of 60- and 63-Across, which made everything miraculously work out in my favor.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Puzzle 147: Freestyle 115. Is this all there is?”

  1. Interesting, but a bit too much edgy stuff here for a fair solve. And that’s speaking from a loyal indie-solver.
    Keep up the fun work though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

