Puzzle 148: Freestyle 116. Creating a buzz.

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.34

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

This grid features a central staggered stack of three 13-letter entries. The bottom two of those three were seed list entries that I discovered could stack like this. The advantage of a staggered stack, as opposed to a stack with answers directly one on top of the other, is that you have two less letters that have to directly touch each other; it doesn’t sound like much, but that makes it a whole lot easier.

I had the central stack from the start, but I made a LOT of changes to the block structure to make this work. About the only thing that stayed the same from my original plan to now was the vertical stacking in the upper right and the lower left. The rest of the grid went through, I’d say, at least two dozen different block structures before I could find something that worked to my liking. It was even starting to get a little frustrating at points. I had to treat it as I would treat a grid that was a really difficult solve — I put it down and came back to it hours later. That actually happened a couple of times with this construction. Of course, a little luck was involved that some of the down entries were able to work next to each other.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

