Puzzle 162: Freestyle 130. Time to get your hands dirty.

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 68
Mean word length: 5.56

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

The first thing you’ll see when you open this grid, probably, is the stack in the middle (well, actually, it’ll almost certainly be the first thing, since I mentioned it), but the three 15-letter “spines” intersecting the stack were not originally planned. In fact, I was pretty far into the construction of this grid before I even considered any 15s, never mind three of them. Originally, I had two six-block “pyramids” on the left and right sides to block out any vertical 15s, until I considered the letter patterns to see if any 15s would fit. Luckily, there were a couple of good options (and you usually only need one) for each fifteen, and hence I opened it up. That’s why it’s a 68 — with the stack in the middle and the three fifteens running down the grid, 68 was pretty much the highest I could go.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

4 thoughts on “Puzzle 162: Freestyle 130. Time to get your hands dirty.”

  1. That answer I agree was a mislead, and the lower-left was just brutal (41-A and 53-A were too vague/misdirective, with all of the new terms floating in that area). Other than that, the long fill here was immensely cool.

    Like

  2. I did nooooo like this one atall (as my Irish relatives would say). No knock on the cruciverbalism in making it, but even after getting everything, I don’t get everything. 8A, 20A, 22A, 23A*, 25A, 42A, 46A and 21D still don’t work for me for the most part even though I see what the correct answer is.

    * I get what you mean, but I don’t recall ever seeing that abbreviation in film noir or the novels associated with the genre. TEK, yes, but not that.

    Like

    1. Just meant that that’s a character typically seen in that genre, and that’s an abbreviation for it. I didn’t mean to imply that that’s an abbreviation typically found in that genre. Sorry you had that experience.

      Like

      1. It’s all good. I love the puzzles but just had a rough solver’s experience on this one. I’d wager a good amount of money that my failings are the reason this one didn’t work for me rather than your cluing.

        Like

Leave a Reply

