Puzzle 164: Freestyle 132. Raise your hands in the air like you just don’t care.

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.54

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

A true triple stack! Everything came from 17-Across this time. Whether I’m on the bottom or on the top of the grid, I find that it’s ideal to work from the bottom of the stack to the top of the stack (or from the right side to the left side). Sometimes I start in the middle, but I find that whenever I seed the top of a stack and work downward (or the leftmost side of a stack and work toward the right), I have a harder time building a stack successfully. Both stacks in this grid, in fact, are prime examples of this — I started with the bottom entry of the bottom stack, too, and built upward. Obviously, the second stack you build in a grid is going to be harder to construct than the first, because you conform the blocks to the first stack to make that stack work and you have to conform the second stack to the block configuration you’ve already formed.

Also, there’s an entry in there that might be a little green paint-y… I don’t know, I’ve definitely used it, and I’ve definitely heard others use it, and I can find examples on Google. (“Green paint” is cruciverbalese for an entry, usually a phrase, that may not quite be in the language, but it is a definite phrase that people use. It’s on the brink of solid validity, but there might be some debate to it. Entries like DRIVES A CAR or QUICK DINNER are examples of “green paint”.) I think it’s obvious what entry I mean, but I guess you can be the judge.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

