Puzzle 168: Freestyle 136. It’s worth a shot, don’t you think?

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.39

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

The design of this ten-stack originally had your standard crossing long diagonal runs of black squares. It’s pretty convenient to just start with that design, because that works out to 72 words, and I can just go from there. You might see what I ended up doing from that starting design: I just moved the pair of blocks closest to the center up/down one, which would move it to 70 and give me the flexibility to add another black square to break up the other stacks if I needed or wanted to. Obviously, I did — the lower left/upper right stacks weren’t working out very well in the 70-word design, so I added the symmetric pair of black squares in those stacks, made it 72 words, and called it a grid.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

One thought on “Puzzle 168: Freestyle 136. It’s worth a shot, don’t you think?”

  1. This is a beautiful grid! I was cracking up at 41D, and loved 20A. And the subtle misdirection at 63D. Thanks for a really fun solve!

    Like

Leave a Reply

