Puzzle 207: Freestyle 172. This grid should be just your type.

Last Friday’s WordKen solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.28

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

Another standard 8×6 offering (well, hopefully not a standard puzzle, just my old standby block formation) today. I really should try constructing from the bottom up sometimes — some say that it’s easier to do that, and I can surmise why. It just seems like it would be more flexible to start with the ends of the down entries. Someone may want to back me up on this, but I want to guess that a lot fewer  different letters make up a similar percentage of English word endings than a lot more letters make up word beginnings. (…if that makes any sense. I’m trying to say that I’m guessing that, say, if [x] number of letters make up 90% of word endings, and [y] number of letters make up 90% of all word beginnings, then [x] is significantly less than [y].) I could be way, way off base, but I’m curious to know. Preliminary research shows that about half of all words end in E, D, S, or T, so there’s that for my theory, but I’m wondering if the pattern expands beyond that.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

