Puzzle 221: Freestyle 186. It’s just one thing on top of another.

Last week’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.25

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

So, you like helper squares? I’ve got three pairs of ’em in this grid! The grid has more black squares than I’d like — there are 36, and the absolute most I want in a 70 or 72-word grid is 38. But the six helper squares made the fill better to me, so it was worth it.

One of those pairs of helpers can be explained by that old favorite device of mine, running one vertical and one horizontal long “marquee” answer intersecting in the center square of the grid. The horizontal answer I wanted was 13 letters long. This is a favorite grid shape of mine because I can cut off the corners enough to make sure the corner stacks can shine but not so much that the flow of the grid at large isn’t affected that much.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

