Puzzle 229: Freestyle 194. It all comes back around eventually.

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.33

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

Another bit of fortune befell me while constructing this grid. I constructed the upper left first, and had a completely different 1-Across than what you’ll see. Next I built the lower right, and after that I went on to the lower left. I put together a fill that I really liked, but, after a little while, I realized that I had a dupe between that section and 1-Across. I was heartbroken, because I had an entry that I really liked in the lower left. But, after a while of trying to rebuild that corner again, I had a thought — could I change 1-Across instead? By some small miracle, I discovered that, yes, I could! I found an entry that had four letters in the same place as the original 1-Across, but was, language-wise, completely different. I hadn’t constructed the upper right yet, luckily, so I could make 28-Across completely different than my original intention to accommodate this new 1-Across. Can you figure out what my original 1-Across was?

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

One thought on “Puzzle 229: Freestyle 194. It all comes back around eventually.”

  1. About killed myself finishing this and you add an extra challenge? Brilliant clue for 59D. I won’t soon forget 14A as it was completely new to me and had to sweat every cross. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

