Puzzle 234: Freestyle 199. Give me a hand here!

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 72
Mean word length: 5.33

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

The top two answers in the upper right stack, where I started, were originally in the second and third rows. (It’s nice to find two good entries that stack so well that you can do that.) I worked for a little while with the stack like that until I realized that it’d work even better with those two entries where you see them now.

In the upper left, the stack I started with (and, in fact, the one I had when I started to do the cluing) was a little different than the one you’ll solve. But I came up with a better idea for fill at the worst time to think of a good idea — in bed just before I was about to fall asleep. I usually keep a pen on my nightstand for such a purpose, but, for some reason, it wasn’t there. So I reconstructed it in my head to make sure it would work, then shuffled out of bed to put it into the grid. I couldn’t let it go, because it was a big improvement over what I’d had at that point. I still think it is.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

