Puzzle 244: Freestyle 209. Keep your composure.

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.51

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

What an adventure I had with the bottom half of this grid. The grid you see is (almost) what I initially came up with — but it wasn’t what I stuck with the whole time. Clear as mud? I’ll explain. I constructed everything according to plan… then I had second thoughts about the lower left because of a crossing I was wary of. So… I reconstructed it entirely and came up with something I liked. Problem was… it contained a rather obvious dupe with an entry in the lower right. So… I tried to reconstruct the middle right to deal with the dupe, but I couldn’t really come up with anything I liked. So I changed the lower left back to where it was and changed one of the clues to make that aforementioned crossing “Natick-proof”. Then… a little while later (read: last night, just before preparing the document to upload), an entry was still nagging me. Specifically, it was a plural name, and I NEVER like plural names. I had a sudden insight on how to change it, so I did that and changed the relevant clues last-minute to get what you’re about to solve in this grid. I suffer for my art!

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

Thanks as always to the test solvers for their input.

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

Leave a Reply

