Puzzle 282: Freestyle 247. Show us how it’s done!

Last Tuesday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 70
Mean word length: 5.46

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

Of course the grid started with the intersecting spanners across and down the center, but in no way was I planning to have bonus ten-letter entries like I put at 19- and 56-Across. That is, if you believe me… because I just happened to be able to fit in a seed-list entry at 56-Across that I didn’t see coming. That’s why it’s 70 words instead of 72 — I totally had what’s now 19- and 56-Across as separate 3- and 6-letter entries split by a black square, but it worked out better, after I built the upper right, to extend that entry all the way to the edge. Actually, it’d be more accurate to say that it worked out, period… because there weren’t any good options with a 6-letter entry having those last four letters. There were, however, plenty more 10s with that ending, strange as it may sound. So I opened it up a little bit.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

Thanks as always to the test solvers for their input.

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Friday!

3 thoughts on “Puzzle 282: Freestyle 247. Show us how it’s done!”

Leave a Reply

