Puzzle 295: Freestyle 260. Just like old times…

Last Friday’s freestyle solution

Get the PDF here!

Get the PUZ here!

Word count: 68
Mean word length: 5.62

Have something you wanna say? Got a question? Want to do a guest freestyle? Want to collaborate on a freestyle? Want to just say hello? Hit me up by email!

The anatomy of a crossword grid is why you’ll see a 68-entry grid today instead of 70 or 72. It’s a staggered 13-letter triple stack in the middle that’s to blame. Since there’s a block on the edge of the middle row, with 7 squares above it and 7 below it, it pretty much forced me to have two 15s running through the stacks. I didn’t want the 6-block “stairstep” chunks on either side, and I hate splitting seven-letter entries into two 3s, so the two 15s were my only option. Talk about molding a whole grid around a couple of entries… this is a pretty unusually-shaped construction, especially for me.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! What did you like? What could I do better?

Thanks as always to the test solvers for their input.

As always, share this link! Pass it around! New puzzle on Tuesday!

One thought on “Puzzle 295: Freestyle 260. Just like old times…”

  1. Tim – You make excellent xword puzzles. I’ve been a fan since finding them. This one, like almost all of your twice weekly puzzles, have been S.N. Saturday Stumper quality and difficulty. I only wish someone on Amy’s blog would step up to include yours in the write-ups. (And no, I am not in any way volunteering.) But I do love your puzzles. Thanks again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

