Puzzle 2: A Capital Idea. Because I’m more than just acrosses and downs.

Get the PDF here!

Here at Club 72, we’re (which is to say, I’m) not all about the crossword puzzle. Mostly… but not all. I aim to entertain, puzzlically (puzzlewise? puzzlifyingly?) speaking, in multiple ways and on multiple levels. From time to time, and they’ll usually be posted on a Friday evening, you’ll see other puzzles of the wordplay ilk here. (Who knows, you may even see a stray crossword pop up on Fridays, too.) Case in point, this.

Remember that blurb there in “about me” where I say that I don’t know how my wife is putting up with this? Well, this is one of those times where I was lying awake and had a thought. I noticed that Berlin, Germany had a word hidden inside of it: linger. I rolled over and wrote it down, probably awakening Christine in the process. I then went scouring through the list of world capitals (the next day, of course) and listed every one that had a “linking” word like this that I thought that at least someone might know. I left out the really obscure ones, so you won’t have to worry about struggling to remember the capitals of Papua New Guinea or Swaziland. Unless you’re from there, of course. Still and all, it would be VERY impressive to get all 35 of these.

I’ll be back with another crossword puzzle, of course, on Tuesday. The answer to Freestyle Puzzle 1 will appear there too. But I hope this will tide you over until then.

As always, I’d like to know, folks… comment is welcome! Come say hello! Let me know how you did! What did you like? What could I do better? Who is that masked man? Where do babies come from? Which tie goes better with this vest?

As always, share this link! Pass it around!

4 thoughts on “Puzzle 2: A Capital Idea. Because I’m more than just acrosses and downs.”

    1. I wanted to include Washington, but I found that the capital is formally named “District of Columbia”, and that doesn’t really mix with “United States”.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.